Garnering Recognition

Bryant High School Athletics Hall of Honor

Founded in 2014, The Bryant High School Athletics Hall of Honor encompasses a group of individuals who have made an extraordinary impact on the sport they participated in either as a coach or a player. Last year was the inaugural year for the Hall of Honor, so 2016 will be the second year’s class of inductees. The current Bryant High School Athletic Director, Mike Lee, was instrumental in developing and starting the BHS HOH.

According to Coach Lee, he had several previous conversations with the former Superintendent, Randy Rutherford, when he was being interviewed for the AD position five years ago. Coach Lee asked the question “what was missing in Bryant athletics.” The response, among other things, was a Hall of Honor for previous Bryant High School athletes and coaches.

The research then began on whether or not to have a Hall of Fame or a Hall of Honor. There are several similarities, but also notable differences in the two programs. Ultimately, after months of research of other school’s programs and collecting data, it was decided to have a Hall of Honor. A board was then appointed. The board currently consists of ten members ranging from past Bryant athletes and alumni, current coaches, current teachers, to school administrators.

The board members assist in the appointment of HOH inductees, among other duties. There is one permanent board seat that belongs to Chris Treat, the Bryant Parks and Recreation Director and the Chairman of the Hall of Honor. “It was the brain child of Athletic Director Mike Lee. Mike did research on other Hall of Honors around the state and recruited me to be the Chairman. Together, we pulled together a group of Bryant Faculty and Alumni and formed the Hall of Honor Board,” Treat, said.

“Our goal is to induct a class of no more than eight every year,” Treat added. The Hall of Honor tradition has been started at Bryant High School and will continue to grow as classes are inducted year after year.

The Hall of Honor will host a reception in honor of the 2016 class of June 4th, 2016 at 6:30 in the evening at the Bryant High School Multipurpose Room. The public is invited to help Bryant High School celebrate the newest class.

“I am confident to that our Bryant Athletic Hall of Honor be recognized as an elite model for the state of Arkansas. The Hall of Honor board is committed to inducting deserving honorees with perfect timing. My hopes are that through time our honorees, the Bryant School District, and the Bryant community are proud of the Hall of Honor board efforts,” Coach Lee concluded.

Bryant High School Athletics Hall of Honor 2016 Inductees

Pre 1975

Larry Dean Crandall

  • 1st Bryant basketball player in history to receive an athletic scholarship (Arkansas State Teachers College – Now UCA)
  • Holds record for points scored in one game (53 points in District Tournament vs. Benton 1951)

1971-72 & 1972-73 Tennis Team

  • Back-to-back 6AA State, District Doubles, and Singles Champions

Post 1975

Cheryl Hall Nelson
Track & Basketball

  • State records set 200 yard and 400 yard
  • Member of #3 Nationally ranked basketball team; State Champions with a 33-1 record
  • 1982 Gazette’s Female Track High School Athlete of the Year

Spencer McCorkel
Track & Field/Pole Vaulting

  • 1st pole vaulter in AR High School history to clear 17 ft
  • Won the Nike Outdoor National champions in pole vaulting in 2007
  • Won the pole vault at the state indoor meet (2005-2007) and state outdoor meet (2006)
  • Holds the A State Meet Record of 16’8” (2006)
  • Gatorade Track & Field Athlete of the Year in AR (2005-2007)

Sally Moore Stokes
Basketball & Volleyball

  • 4 Year Basketball All State
  • 1987 USA Today Basketball All American
  • 1989 Gatorade Basketball Player of the Year
  • Naismith Female Player of the Year
  • Member of the 1987-88 and 1988-89 State Basketball Championship teams
  • 4 Year Volleyball All Conference
  • 3 Year Volleyball All State

Jessie Taylor

  • Member of 3-time State Championship team (2010-2012)
  • State Tournament MVP (2012)
  • All-Conference (2009-2012)
  • All-State (2010-2012)
  • Holds multiple AAA All-time records for state of Arkansas: 1st Home Runs (41), 1st RBI (263), 2nd Slugging (.972), 2nd Doubles (50), 3rd Hits (166)

Danny Westbrook
Cross Country/Track

  • Coached for 35 years, including 2 Boys State Champions (1991 & 1992), 2 Girls State Champions (1995 & 2002), 2 Indoor Track & Field State Championships (2001 & 2003), 13 Conference Championships
  • 1993 Boys Cross Country Coach of the Year
  • 2003 Girls Cross Country Coach of the Year
  • Including many more personal and team accolades